RSS

Interesting issues arise when guns and geeks run into each other

23 Jun

Its no secret to anybody that there is a pretty strong presence of tech-heads, geeks and nerds in the gun community. Honestly I cant fully explain this but I like it a lot. I think this correlation helps bring in more shooters and helps our community all around.

Today I read an article By Caleb over at Gun Nuts Media basically one of the local IDPA clubs here in Washington passed a rule saying no video at the event, Caleb views himself as a journalist first and a shooter second and this pulled his support from the event. Initially I had mixed feelings because Caleb has an interesting reputation however we can all agree he posts great videos and does some pretty cool work. The way I see this issue as I understand it is that the powers at be at this specific club are pretty opposed to new media and don’t want to welcome us bloggers, or at least not blogger who rely heavily on video at their club.

I view this much as the same as the Fudds in the hunting community who don’t see a reason for me to own and AR-15 a modern capacity pistol or a shotgun that is useful for more than duck hunting. I have no love for Fudds and think they are dangerous to our cause. As I wrote HERE. So on this issue I am standing with Caleb and Gun Nuts Media. If this club doesn’t want us then fine we have plenty of other clubs. One thing that western Washington is blessed with is a ton of good gun clubs, so no real loss here.

 

Leave a Reply

 
