RSS

How I got into guns

10 Jun

This week there has been a lot of bloggers doing articles about how they got into guns or more accurately how we became gun nuts. I first Read Daddy Bears story then Jennifer’s and deiced to do my own.

So here is my story, growing up my Father was a shooter who although he always owned guns and strongly took the approach of educating us about them rather than just keeping them locked away and saying “don’t look in the box” he believed strongly in gun safety and when he took the guns out safety and the 4 rules were always the most important. When we were kids he would occasionally go the range but never really made a big deal about it. My Mother was at best neutral on guns, she never really supported the hobby but was not anti-gun either. Prior to high school essentially all of my shooting experience was through Cub Scouts and Boy Scouts. I remember lots of days on the rifle range at summer camp. I wasn’t always the best shot but I took a lot of pride in what I did. I thought I was hot stuff when I could reliably shoot the clothes pin that was being used as a target holder. (Much to the dismay of several of the adults who had to explain that just because I could didnt mean I should)

I specifically remember that the indoor range near us had a rule that you had to be 14yrs old to shoot there and right after my 14th birthday Dad took me. Now prior to this I had shot a lot of .22lr rifles but had never shot a handgun. My fathers handguns were mostly .38/.357mag revolvers with a little Astra .380 mixed in their as well. The first gun I shot was the .380 because I thought I was way too cool to shoot a revolver. I later took a liking to his little Detective special .38spl and became pretty damm good with it. This range also had some rental guns so we rented a few as well. From that point on my passion was always there but I didn’t get much shooting time. Then when I went off to college a buddy of mine from the debate team told me that he bought a gun because he wanted to learn to shoot and wanted me to go with him. He and I went a few times a month after debate practice and I would generally rent a springfield XD because I loved that gun. He had a S&W 4906 and I liked his gun but knew I was not a fan of steel framed pistols.

Then in 2006 I got the opportunity to work for the College Republican National Committee and was stationed in Nevada. While I was down there it seemed like most of the guys were into shooting stuff out in the desert and were always willing to take me shooting. On this trip I didn’t bring any guns but there were always plenty around for me to use. Shortly after that I came home went to the range a few more times and was all ready to buy a Springfield XD. Well then one day I go the range the XD was not available and the range master suggested that I try the Smith and Wesson M&P I shot that for the day and LOVED it, it fit my hand much better and I had a great time. 2 weeks later I went out to a local gun shop and bought a new M&P. It is now my daily carry gun and I love it. Also being the first gun that I bought its kinda my favorite. That’s the quick and dirty story. I do feel that I should add one quick anecdote though. The date that I knew I wanted to work hard for gun rights was a vastly different date. This was about in 4th grade when our class was doing a music program  on “The Oregon Trail” the teacher asked for suggestions on “sounds of the Oregon trail” I immediately put my hand up and suggested a gun shot. She reluctantly wrote it up on the board and then explained that since gunshots don’t have a place in school we wont be using that particular sound effect. I WAS PISSED, it did not logically comprehend how you could do a production on the Oregon trail without having a gunshot. Were we honestly suppose to believe that no animals were harmed in the making of the American West???? I went home got sympathy from mom but she also kinda said “give up and just go a long” well long story short the day of production came I still was pissed about this and I ended up with the rain stick instead. This was the first time that I had really been exposed to the politics of guns and now that I am an adult I look back to that  as a defining moment in my life. See even my role as a gun nut can be blamed on the public education system LOL.

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
