RSS

The gun owners I don’t understand.

20 May

Its no secret that I spend a lot of time on gun blogs, surfing other peoples blogs and spending endless time in GBC chat. In social situations with my group of friends firearms also come up quite often. I have been exposed to all sorts of gun owners ranging from the tacticool mall ninja who only buys HK stuff or stuff that he claims is the same gear that Seal team 6 uses. To the old school NRA fudd who just doesn’t understand why somebody would ever want a shotgun with more than 3 rounds or a semi-auto rifle. While both of these guys have views that I think are pretty much unreasonable I can almost ration with them and unless the fudd is actively threatening my right to own the guns he doesn’t like then I consider them harmless.

However the type of gun owner I am running into a little more often and DONT understand is the guy who buys lots of guns and doesn’t shoot them. No i’m not talking about an antique collector. The perfect example of this a gentleman at work who I will refer to as “Dude X”. I sold Mr. X a pretty basic used Remington 870 a few months ago, well this week he was telling me that since he turned 45years old he went out and bought a pistol in .45acp. This opened the door for me to ask how he liked the 870. He then explained to me that he had not shot the 870 and in fact it had been several years since he shot at all. I asked him why and he explained that he didnt really enjoy shooting and always had something more pressing to spend the time doing.

Now don’t get me wrong I get the time issue, and I get that many gun owners buy one gun toss it in their sock drawer and consider a tool just in case. But this guy regularly buys and sells guns that he has never put a round through. He also likes to share with everyone how he is building his “secret hidden wall” in his garage to keep the guns in. (BTW if you tell everybody about your secret its no secret anymore). I suppose the actual act of buying guns that you don’t use isn’t harmful other than he is doing himself and his family a MASSIVE disservice by thinking he is prepared when he has no idea what those guns are going to feel like or even if they function.

 

Leave a Reply

 
