RSS

Obama Planning a 1 Billion dollar campaign for re-election

21 Jan

It was announced today that Obama is kicking off his 2012 campaign. As if he had not been campaigning since inauguration day. Now I am not one to argue for spending limits on campaigns, nor do I really care if he dupes enough donors into writing him a check to get to that $1,000,000,000 mark. What I think is nuts is that we are still in Jan of 2011 and he already realizes how much help he is going to need. According to OpenSecrets Obama’s total in 2008 was $745 Million so in all reality its not that much of an increase but, since he gets the benefit of being on TV whenever the hell he wants you would expect his expenditure to drop. For comparison the re-election of George W. Bush in 2004 cost $367 million. Of course I fully expect the GOP candidate to spend at least as much as Obama on the 2012. campaign. This should be fun to watch and I only hope that people realize that no single politician regardless of party is going to solve all of your problems. In fact if a president ran on the campaign of “I promise to do NOTHING except to keep my cell-phone turned on, if there is an emergency I will be there but otherwise I want to leave everybody the hell alone” Then I would gladly work tirelessly to campaign/ fund raise/ promote that candidate.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 21, 2011 in Politics

 

Leave a Reply

 
